« ZurückWeiter »
COCKBURNSPATH, confifting of between 7000 and 8000 acres, part of which is hill and muir, that upon the fea-coaft is, in general, light and fandy, though fome is of a rich clayey quality. It brings from 30s. to 40s. the Scots acre, the whole yielding between 4000l. and 5000l, yearly; there are about 884 inhabitants. On the London road, which paffes through the parish, we meet with the Peaths, or Peefe-bridge, as it is commonly pronounced, planned and executed by Mr Henderson. It was thrown over a ravine in the year 1786, cut by the Peefe-burn; the bridge is 300 feet long, and 15 feet wide; from the bottom of the burn to the top of the railing, it measures 123 feet. About a quarter of a mile from this bridge, ftands the Old Tower; it is the ruins of an ancient castle of confiderable ftrength; being near the boundary of the two kingdoms, many veftiges of camps of various kinds are visible on the rifing grounds in the glens and paffes many military operations may be traced, The ruins of the old church of Auld-Cambus, formerly united to this parish, are ftill ftanding. The fchiftic rocks which compofe the Lammermuir hills, terminate on the feacoaft here; it is gratifying to the mineralogift to trace the line of feparation of the primary and fecondary ftrata; they are diftinctly laid bare, at a place called Sickar Point, by the washing of the fea. The fchiftus ftands nearly in a vertical position, and the sandstone joins it, and lies close upon it, in horizontal ftrata. Though no other minerals have been discovered, yet in the gravel it is not uncommon to find alfo whinftone, granite, porphyry, and even limeftone.
CRANSHAWS lies further weft in the middle of the Lammermuir hills, and is a very fmall parish, containing only 164 inhabitants. Crandaw's Caftle is a fmall fortified tower very entire ; this, with the ruins of fimilar edifices in this part of the country, and the remains of many encampments, all fhow that this
country muft have been the scene of much ftrife and bloodshed. The water of Whitadder is a small stream here, but well stocked with trout. Cranfhaws is ufed as goat whey quarters during the fummer months.
COLDINGHAM is an extensive parish, between 6 and 7 miles long, and as many in breadth, and containing 2391 inhabitants, but of an irregular figure. A very extenfive moor extends to the weft; on the fea-coaft the ground is rich and productive; St Abb's Head is fituated on this coaft. The town of Coldingham, containing nearly 720 perfons, ftands about a mile from the fea, and appears, from various circumftances, to have been very ancient, and much more extended than at present. The fhores afford excellent fishing for cod, turbet, haddock, and many other white fish. Befides fome natural wood on the banks of the river Eye, there is a good deal of planting lately made in this parish. Several ruins may be traced, but none of any eminence.
EYEMOUTH was once a part of the priory of Coldingham; it is a very fmall parish, about a mile fquare, and containing about 1000 inhabitants. The ground is a rich loam, inclining to fand, and is almoft wholly arable and inclofed.
There may be reckoned in whole 800 acres, which yield from 25s. to 40s. per English acre. There is a good harbour here, lately erected at the mouth of the river Eye where the town ftands, and which is daily receiving improvements; the coaft abounds with fifh. On a fmall promontory which stretches out into the fea, there are the remains of a regular fortification. The rock which compofes this promontory, is a coarfe pudding-ftone; the rocks on the coaft are, in general, whinstone.-Next to this lies
AYTON parish is nearly 4 miles square, containing 1146 inhabitants, of which nearly one half refide in the village. The fouth-eaft part is hilly; the feafhore is high and rocky. The foil in the middle is rich and fertile, produ
cing all kinds of grain. On the banks of the Eye, there is a paper mill, and 4 flour mills. Several veftiges of encampments are shown here; urns and broken pieces of armour are occationally found in the ground. The manfion houfe of Ayton is pleasantly fituated, and has a great deal of thriving planta
tions around it.
MORDINGTON, in the fouth-eaft corner of the county, is a parifh between 3 and 4 miles in length, and from 1 to 2 in breadth, containing only about 340 inhabitants. The foil is various; on the banks of the river Whitadder it is a ftiff clay; towards the coaft light and fandy. The rent amounts to about 2000l. At Lammerton ftands the chapel where James IV. of Scotland was married to Margaret, daughter of Henry VII. of England, in 1503. Though neither coal nor lime are wrought in this county, we find vestiges of both in feveral places on the fhore here, fmall veins of ironstone, of coal, and of lime ftone may be traced, and abundance of fine freeftone. The east London road paffes through this parish, and alfo the Berwick road by Dunfe to Edinburgh. The remains of a Danish camp, Edington Castle, fituated on the top of a steep rock, and the Witches Know, where, fo late as the prefent century, feveral unfortunate women were burnt for witchcraft, are objects worthy of the traveller's notice.
FOULDEN is a fmall parish, nearly 24 miles square, and contains 344 inhabitants. In general, the foil is good; on the fouth a clayey foil prevails; in the centre of the parifh it is loamy, but more light towards the north.
ried banks of the Whitadder make this quarter pleafant.
CHIRNSIDE parish is of an oblong figure, about 4 miles at the greatest length, and 3 where broadeft, containing about 6523 acres, which rent from 12s. to 30s. per acre. The number of inhabitants are 961, 609 of whom refide in the village of Chirnfide, which is a prefbytery feat. Of the eminences
which project from the Lammermuir hills, Chirnfide-hill is one of the most remarkable, and commands a fine view of a fertile and well cultivated country. In this parish, beautified by many gentlemen's feats, fome veftiges of ancient camps are shown. There is plenty of marle wrought, and lately a species of gypfum has been difcovered on the banks of Whitadder. On the eftate of Ninewells is a plane tree fuppofed 150 years old, which measures 17 feet of folid wood below the boughs. This is the family feat of the Humes, of which the celebrated David Hume was a younger brother.
POLWARTH parifh is of a triangular form; its greateft length is 3, and its greateft breadth 2 miles, and contains 288 perfons; the real rent is about L. 1000 Sterling, and the Earl of Marchmont is fole proprietor of the parish. The foil is various, the greateft part is clayey; in fome places it is gravelly, in others fandy. In the middle of the village there are two old Thorn trees, around which it was the cuftom for every new-married pair, with their company, to dance in a ringhence the fong Polwarth on the Green.
LADDYKIRK parish extends along the banks of the Tweed 24 miles, and 1 mile in breadth, containing about 3500 acres English, The inhabitants are in number about 600. In general, the foil is a deep loam, fometimes with a clay, and fometimes with a gravelly bottom; the rent is from 15s. to 30s. per acre, and the farms produce from L. 300 to L. 600 per annum. The ground is, on the whole, flat here, with a few gentle rifings, and is well cultivated. The improvement of their fheep ftock has been of late much attended to in this quarter.
SWINTON and SIMPRIM. Thefe united parithes extend about 4 miles from east to west, and 3 from north to fouth, and contain near 900 inhabitants. The foil is, in general, a deep clay; the furface is varied by rifing grounds, and gentle elevations, in long ridges
and flats, which make it in general very and contain about 8900 acres of fit for improvements. The rent is from ground; the number of inhabitants is 8s. to 25s. per acre, yielding, in whole, 622. The ground towards the Lampwards of L. 4,000 Sterling. The mermuir hills is thin and poor, but in only ftream of any conf.quence is Leet, the low parts, on the banks of the which abounds in pike. No minerals, Whitadder, it is chiefly a rich loam, except fanditone, have been discovered and almoft the whole is inclofed, which here. The antiquity of the family of contributes much to the beauty of the Swinton* deferves notice. It appears, country. There is plenty of freeftone, that 22 proprietors, including the pre- and clay-marl on the banks of the river fent, have occupied this effate, during Whitadder. About 12 years ago a a period of 731 years. This is the more remarkable, when we recollect the turbulence and frequency of feuda! broils and border wars, during great part of this long period.
HUTTON. The ground of this parish is flat and very fertile, being fituated on the banks of the Tweed and Whitadder. The foil in general, is what is called a deep loam, but in fome places, towards the middle of the parish, it is a thin clay, and all inclosed. The number of inhabitants is about 120. WHITSOM and HILTON are about 4 miles in length, and 2 miles in breadth, containing 590 inhabitants. The ground in culture is, in general, a rich clayey foil, a great part being flat there is a good deal of marth and wet land in the parish.
EDROM is a large parish, extending to 10 miles in length, and 6 in breadth, containing 1336 inhabitants. The ap. pearance of the country is flat here, and the ground is tolerably good, excepting towards the Lammermuir hills, where it is thin, moorish, and unproductive; the rent is various, from 10S. to 30s. per acre the amount of the whole is towards L. 6500 Sterling per annum ; almoft the whole is inclofed. Both Whitadder and Blackadder run through this parish.
BONCLE and PRESTON. Thefe united parishes are about 6 miles fquare,
*This family is faid to have originally obtained a grant of thefe lands for cleaning the county of Swine, which at that time much infefted it. Tradition, the name, the bearings of the arms, and other circumflances feem to corroborate the opinion.
copper mine was wrought on a mall farm called Hoardweel, the ore is faid to have been rich, but the working was was given up, owing to the vein having failed.
DUNSE parish is an oblong fquare, 8 miles from north to fouth, and 5 from eaft to weft, and contains 3324 inhabitants, 2324 of whom refide in the town. Dunfe town formerly stood on the top of that beautiful hill called Dunfe Law; but was afterwards rebuilt at the foot of the hill. The fituation is grand, being at the head of a plain 25 miles long, in the very centre of the county, encompaffed on three fides by the Lammermuir hills, the river Whitadder running by it. The flat ground of the parish is in fome places a rich deep loam, in others a ftrong clay, and is in general inclosed. Be fides Dunse Castle, the family feat of Hay of Drumeizier, which had formerly been a place of strength, there is the remains of an old tower, called Edwin's Hall. It confifts of three concentric circles, the diameter of the innermoft is
40 feet, the walls are 7 feet thick, and what is remarkable, the stones are not cemented with mortar of any kind, they are chiefly whin, and made to lock into one another, by groves and projections, executed with vaft labour. is fuppofed to be Pictish. The hill upon which this is built is called Cockburnhill; it is 900 feet above the level of fea, and affords a fine land-mark to the failor on the German Ocean. There is a chalybeate fpring in this neighbourhood, called Dunfe Spa, nearly of a fimilar quality to the Tunbridge; being
an excellent tonic, it proves very efficacious in ftomach complaints* There is abundance of fandítone and whiuftone here. The celebrated metaphyfician and theologift John DunsScotus, was born at Dunfe in 1274. The fite of the houfe where he was born is ftill fhown.
ABBAY OF ST BATHANS is a small parish, fituated in the heart of the Lammermuir hills; it is from 6 to 7 miles long, and about 3 broad, and contains 145 inhabitants. On the banks of the Whitadder the foil is fertile, but the great proportion of the parish is hill and pafture ground, the rent is only about L. 600 per annum. The Earl of Wemyss has put down a neat hunting quarters in this neighbourhood, called the Retreat, which gives life and beauty to other ways a very dreary
LONFORMACus ftands in a fituation very fimilar to that of St Bathans, but is a larger parish, extending 12 miles long, and 6 broad, and containing about 450 inhabitants. The rent is about L. 1700 per annum. Dirington and Laws are two beautiful conic hills. Specimens of copper ore, of a pretty rich quality, are found here, but it has never been wrought. The proprietor has probably been difcouraged by the diftance from fewel.
LANGTON. The mean length of this parish is 41, and the mean breadth 2 miles, containing 435 inhabitants. It is almost all well inciofed and fubdivided, confifting of about 7200 acres English; the rent of ground for culture, is from 15s. to 42s. per English acre, producing, in whole, nearly 266l. Sterling yearly, the whole, except L. 600, belonging to the proprietor of Langton. The foil, in the lower part of the parish is a good loam, yielding all kinds of crops; the higher grounds are well adapted for sheep pafture. The late Mr Gavin of Langton improv.
* From an Analysis of it published by Dr Home, it appears to contain iron, calcareous earth, common falt, and fixed air.
ed and beautifyed this quarter much. The remains of military ftations and encampments are also pointed out here, and, at different times, earthen urns, containing human bones, have been dug up.
COLDSTREAM. This parish extends along the Tweed, which divides it frora England, between 7 and 8 miles; from N. to S it is about 4 miles. The town is fmall, there being no manufacture carried on; a very neat bridge over the Tweed unites the two kingdoms here. The face of the country is flat, and the grounds well cultivated. Towards the river the foil is a rich loam; farther north the ground rifes a little, and inclines to clay. The number of inhabitants is about 2193. Hirfe!, the beautiful feat of the Earl of Home, is in this parish. The river Leet runs into the Tweed here. Some fhell marl, and abundance of stone marl are found in this parish.
GREENLAW is an extensive parish, 7 or 8 miles long, about 2 broad, containing 1210 inhabitants. Being at a great diftance from coal and lime, the ground rents low, from 10s. to 215. per acre, but the foil in many places is good, being a deep rich clay. it is the county town it is but a pocr place, as they have no manufactures of any kind established there; though one of woolen cloth is lately begun. A little to the fouth east of the town ftan is the elegant houfe of Marchmont.
ECCLES. This is a very extenfive and highly cultivated parish. Of 11,000 acres which it contains, fcarcely one is wafte or ufelefs. In extent it is 8 miles from E. to W. and about 6 from N. to S. containing nearly 1780 inhabitants. The foil is various; in fome places a deep clay, in others a rich loam; and in others it is gravelly. In general, the furface is flat, and the grounds are all inclofed.
The fize of the lams is from 800 to 900 acres, and the real rent amounts to about 11,ooi. Sturling. The inclofures, hedge-rows, and number of gentlemens feats, give the
country the appearance of a rich and face of the country is rugged and un
well cultivated garden, to a fpectator at a diítance.
NENTHORN. This parish is nearly 4 miles fquare, and contains about 1900 acres; the number of inhabitants is about 350. In general the foil is good, and well cultivated. Blue whin-ftone prevails here; and on the banks of the Eden, there is abundance of red fandftone.
STITCHEL, and HUME, lie partly in Roxburghshire. They extend from the north to south about 6 miles, and between 3 or 4 from east to west, and contain about 1000 inhabitants. The foil is, in general, a ftiff clay, and is well cultivated. The total rent is about 3000l. per annum. The remains of Hume Caftle*, noted during the contentions on the borders, ftands in this parish. This caftle has a most commanding prospect over almoft the whole of the Merfe and Roxburghshire. The rifing ground called Lundie Craigs, is compofed of bafaltic columns, from 5 to 6 feet in height, and 16 or 17 inches over. The fmall river Eden feparates Stitchel from Nenthorn.
GORDON . This parish is 7 miles long from W. to E. and of unequal breadth, from 2 to 4. The London road by Cornhill runs through it; it contains about 920 inhabitants. The
* It is reported, that when Oliver Cromwell was at Haddington, he fent a fummons to the Governor, ordering him to furrender. The Governor returned for antwer,
"That he, Willie Waftle, flood firm in his
That all the dogs of his town, fhould not
even here, but fcarcely rifes to what is
WESTRUTHER lying on the fide of
LEGERWOOD, this is a fmall "parish,
EARLSTON lies amongst the hills on the banks of the Leader; it is about 6 miles long, and from 3 to 4 broad, and contains 1351 inhabitants. The famous THOMAS THE RHYMER, who lived in the 13th century, was born in the village of Earlfton; part of his houfe called Rymer's Tour is still standing. There is a ftone built in the forewall of the church, having this infcription, "Auld Rhymers race, lies in this place," his real name and title was Sir Thomas Learmont. On the banks of the Leader, ftands the houfe of Cowden Knows, which is an old building, near which are the Knows covered with broom, celebrated in the old fong of that name. Near this lies Blainfie, Gordon are defcended, and the boar ftill fo long famous for the production of makes a part of the family arms, in memory of this gallant action. The Duke of Gordou excellent oats, and the handfome vilis ftill fuperior of fome lands in the parifh. lage of Carolfide.
drive Willie Waftle down." This feems to be the origin of that play among children.
+ Several perfons of the name Gordon came to Britain with William the Conqueror, one of whom having fortunately killed a wild boar that infeited this neighbourhood, received certain lands here to which he gave his own name. From him the Dukes of
(To be continued.)