« ZurückWeiter »
to the nave by a pointed arch, rising from clustered columns. About the middie is another large pointed arch, dividing the nave and chancel, which are separated from the aisles by five plainpointed arches on each side, mostly supported on octagonal columns; but varied on the north by clustered columns. The east window consists of three lights; the centre light terminates in a trefoil, the others in quatrefoils. The windows of the nave are small, and of a square form, though divided into trefoil-headed lights. Among the ancient monuments in this edifice, is a very large altar-tonb of free-stone, in the east angle of the north aisle, having recumbent, but greatly mutilated, effigies of a Knight and a Lady: the latter on the right hand. The Knight is in armour, with a shirt of chain-work: his hands folded across his body, as in prayer. On his left breast is a crescent; and on each shoulder, his arms, on a cross, five mullets, with a crescent for difference: the legs and thighs are broken off, and gone; and the head is loose, and much defaced. The Lady has on a flowered robe, and over it a long cloak, fastened across the neck, from which is pendant a chain, and small cross. On her left side is a crescent; and on her right, a saltire engrailed; below which, on the folds of the cloak, are the same arms as on the Knight's shoulder. The hands, which have been raised as in prayer, are broken off; and the countenance is much defaced. The head-dress is of an angular form, of the time of Henry the Seventh. On the west and south sides of the tomb, are shields of the above arms, in square compartments, with trefoils in the angles: on one of the shields, the arms are impaled. This is probably the tomb of SIR John VERNEY, of Pendley; who was Sheriff of Herts and Essex in the fourteenth of Henry the Seventh. Salmon seems to intimate that this was the tomb of Piers Gaveston, the haughty favorite of Edward the Second; but the arms are those of Werney. Gaveston, as appears from Stowe, was first buried among the Friars Preachers at Oxford; but two years afterwards, his body was removed by the King with great pomp, and re-interred in this Church. Within
Within the altar-rails, on the north side, is the tomb of EDMox D of LANGLEY, son of Edward the Third, who was buried here, near the remains of his first wife, Is ABEL, younger daughter of Pedro, King of Castile. This tomb was originally differently situated, as appears from its sides being surrounded with shields of arms; though, from its present position, those only on the west and south can now be seen. The arms on the west side, are those of Westminster, England, and Mercia: the shields on the south, display the arms of Edmond, &c. All the shields are in the centres of ornamented square compartments: below them, under plain mouldings, is a range of quatrefoils, apparently surrounding the whole tomb. The top is now covered with a broken slab of Purbeck marble; the other parts are of free-stone.
Opposite to the above, on the south side of the altar, is a plain tomb of white marble; over which is a tablet, in memory of the HoNor ABLE WILLIAM GLAscocks, of Adamhowe, in Essex, who was Judge of the Admiralty in Ireland in the time of Charles the Second: he died in July, 1688, at the age of seventy-three. Several slabs, with Brasses, are yet remaining here: one of them, in the north aisle, has small, but neat figures of a male in a long cloak; and two females, with large hats and ruffs, of the time of Elizabeth. Below them, and over two smaller brasses, containing groups of children, nine in each, is this inscription:
On another slab, close to the former, is a small Brass of a female, with an indent for a male figure, which is now gone: the inscription records the name Copsim Tarter, and gigg big Copse: the former died the eleventh of April, 1528. Some fragments of painted glass, with the arms of Sanky, Dalamar, &c. remain in a window of the north aisle. The Church-yard is extensive, and contains many tombs and sepulchral memorials: the most remarkable of
Wol, VII. APRIL, 1806. T these
these is within a space inclosed by iron rails, at the end of the south aisle. It displays an elegant sarcophagus, having a circle in front, surrounding a section of a Saxon building, with the motto, Stabilior Amicitia: above this, on a circular marble tablet, is a basrelief of an infant Hymen, weeping, his torch inverted. This was executed in memory of MRs. ElizaBETH CRAw Ford, of King's Langley, who died in April, 1793, at the age of forty-two. LANGLEY BURY, the seat of Long Kinsman, Esq. was built by the Lord Chief Justice Raymond, about the time of Charles the Second. It stands on elevated ground, rising from the west bank of the Gade River, and nearly opposite to Hunton Bridge. RUSSEL FARM, a pleasant seat about two miles north from Watford, was the residence of Lady Anne Capel, on whose death it became the property of the Earl of Essex, and has been let to General Ross, who was in the East Indies with the late brave and much-lamented Marquis Cornwallis. About two miles north from Watford is the GROVE, now the property and chief residence of Thomas Williers, Earl of Clarendon: it was formerly the estate of the Heydons, as appears from an inscription preserved by Weever,” in memory of John Heydon, Esq. who died in 1400; and Francis, one of whose descendants was Sheriff of Herts in the twenty-fifth of Elizabeth: of this family, also, which the same writer mentions as of “singular note and demerit in other parts of this kingdome,” was Sir William Heydon, who lost his life in the ill-concerted expedition to the Isle of Rhê, in 1627. The Grove was afterwards possessed by the Hamptoms, of Buckinghamshire, and from them it passed through several families, by purchase and otherwise, to the Hydes, Earls of Clarendon, the descendants of the great Lord Chancellor Hyde, the Historian of the Civil Wars. The mansion inhabited by Lord Clarendon is an irregular structure of brick, standing on the west side the Gade, in a Park about three miles in circumference, and through which the river flows in a divided stream. The principal apartments contain a very valua- ble